Teen Review: “Divergent” by Veronica Roth

The novel “Divergent” paints a picture of Chicago in the future divided into factions. The factions were created to eliminate the bad that had come into play over the years. Each faction values different things. Abnegation=Selflessness, Amity=Peaceful, Erudite= Intelligent, Candor=Honesty, and Dauntless=Brave. At age 16, along with everyone else her age, Beatrice Prior must choose her faction. All 16 year olds must take a test that directs them to their faction of best fit. She has the results for three factions: Abnegation, the faction she has grown up in but has difficulty following; Erudite, a faction she has never been to fond of; or Dauntless, a faction she is fascinated by. Receiving results for more that one faction is dangerous because it means she is Divergent. This information must remain a secret or her life could be at risk. On the choosing day, Beatrice selects Dauntless, leaving her parents and her old life behind to become Tris. The Dauntless initiation training is rigorous, and only accepts 10 of the initiates into its faction. If you are not accepted, you are left to take up the life of a factionless person, which is not preferable for anyone. Not only must Tris compete for her spot in Dauntless, but she is faced with conflict between the different factions. In the end, being Divergent is dangerous, but it could also be what saves her. Which faction would you join?

Aedan, Central TLLC, 16

 "Divergent" by Veronica Roth book cover

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: