Landa Tutoring Update

In the past few weeks, I have been teaching my student the English language. At times it was frustrating because of the language barrier, but last week, I discovered a more universal way of teaching through the use of pictures. We created simple sentences that described the image, such as, “The flower is green”, “the flower is brown”, “the book is tall”, “the book is small”, etc. I created many pictures and sentences and asked her to match the picture with the corresponding image. This exercise helped her learn her colors in English, new vocabulary words, sentence structure, and processing skills. I felt that this lesson was my most successful due to the initial challenges that we overcame. My student proved to be a fast learner, and during the lesson, I also taught her the alphabet song, which she really enjoyed. I look forward to our next tutoring session! Landa Tutoring is every Sunday, from 2:30- 3:30pm, and grades k-5 are welcome!

-Maddie C., 16, TLLC member

Leave a Reply

