What does the Fourth of July mean to you?

Well, it means many things to me. Honestly, I’ve never celebrated Fourth of July in a huge way, not as much as many other American citizens do. But I do enjoy the importance and image of Independence Day. I think it’s fun to shoot fireworks, in a safe way that is, and have a barbecue with family, and basically just be with your family, or friends, celebrating the U.S.A.

I believe it’s a time to celebrate freedom, family, friends, and just have a good time. I know that America still has some things to sort out, before every single American citizen has complete freedom. But it has a come a long way, luckily. I have hope though, for the future. That everyone will have freedom, eventually. Especially in America, it’s come a long way, and continues to do so. I know that for a lot of people, they don’t have complete freedom to be themselves, to marry, or have equal pay, complete control over their bodies, etc. But I believe that in the future everyone will. America is, luckily, changing more and more, every day, so everyone can have equal rights.

So that’s a really great thing to celebrate. Change. I know, not all change is good, obviously. But America is changing for the better, in my opinion.

 

Anyways, back to talking specifically about the Fourth of July. This isn’t all that relevant to the Fourth of July, but I love the fireworks. They’re so beautiful, although sometimes really loud. I also, like that people have interesting parties for the 4th of July, and they hold barbecues a lot during this time. I like the colours too, red, white, and blue. It’s a pretty combination of colours. The sales are also fun, of course. I mean, who doesn’t love a sale at your favourite store? 

Basically, my closing comment about Independence Day will be, it means family, freedom, togetherness, celebration, and fun to me.

So what does the Fourth of July mean to you?

Written by Hannah Drummond.

Leave a Reply

