Teen Review: “Insurgent” by Veronica Roth

“Insurgent” by Veronica Roth

Since the movie version of Insurgent is coming out towards the end of this month (I am so excited!), I simply had to get my hands on this novel – I am quite stubborn about reading a book before watching its movie since I feel like seeing visual representation first almost ruins the story and discourages the imagination. Anyway, many major plot events occur in Insurgent, highlighting the increasing tensions between Tobias and Tris as they realize that their opinions differ about most things. It is revealed Tris is truly Divergent, exhibiting characteristics of Abnegation, Dauntless, and Erudite; on the other hand, Four only left Abnegation because he feared Marcus, and he was planning on returning until he met Tris – the only reason he chose to remain in Dauntless. I do not want to spoil anything, but I must warn that this novel caused me to lose all respect for a certain character that should have stayed loyal to Tris, and it surprisingly caused me to gain some respect for a potentially malicious character. Although this novel is not as interesting as its prequel, Divergent, I still enjoyed it and I love the series. If you are a fan of Veronica Roth like I am, she has supposedly signed a contract for a duology with HarperCollins, in which the first book will be coming out in 2017 (I can’t wait!).

~Niraja-15, Parman TLLC

Leave a Reply

