Parman Teen Book Review: “Matched” by Allison Condie

Matched is the first novel in a trilogy concerning a highly restrictive dystopian society, much like The Hunger Games and the Divergent series; however, this novel is not nearly as violent. The protagonist is seventeen-year-old Cassia Reyes, and the story starts off with her getting ready for her Match Banquet, a ceremony in which boys and girls are Matched together, similar to an arranged marriage. Cassia ends up being matched with her best friend Xander, and she excitedly heads home to read the micro card given to her at the Match Banquet, containing information about her Match. Cassia is content with her Match and excited to find out if she will discover anything about Xander that she does not already know in the micro card, but her whole life changes when the micro card displays an image that it should not have – for a brief moment, instead of displaying Xander’s face, it showed Ky Markham. Cassia knows Ky from school, and she also knows that Ky is an Aberration: someone who is not a citizen of their society because they, or someone related to them, has committed a “crime.” Cassia knows that the image was a mistake, and the Officials have told her it was, but she cannot help but wonder who her true match is: Xander or Ky? As the novel progresses, Cassia struggles to realize where her heart lies, especially as she begins to see the goodness in Ky and the lack of courage in Xander. Matched is an interesting novel with a feminine touch that I would suggest to readers who enjoyed The Hunger Games and Divergent trilogies. Niraja, 16 Parman TLLC

matched

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: