Parman Teen Book Review: “The catcher in the rye” by J.D. Salinger

catcher in the rye

As a more modern classic, The Catcher in the Rye is different from most of the other classics I’ve read. First and foremost, the narrator, Holden Caulfield, is a sixteen-year-old, which I believe will make it easier for teens to relate to this novel on a personal level. In the book, Holden faces disillusionment with mankind and plans on running away from home after flunking out of several fancy college preparatory schools. J.D. Salinger’s writing style reflects Holden’s stream of consciousness, which makes the novel much more emotional than a typical first-person narrative. I’ve heard a lot of praise and criticism regarding the novel; I generally liked it. I loved how different it was, and how Salinger chose to detail only a few days of Holden’s life while simultaneously recapping everything of significance that has ever happened to him. I found the first part of the novel quite humorous and enjoyable; however, by the second half, I found myself almost tired of Holden’s voice and character. I was a bit exhausted by Holden’s depression and how he tended to repeat certain catchphrases too often. Overall, though, The Catcher in the Rye is a piece I believe everyone should read at least once in their lifetime because it is truly a thought-provoking and unique novel. Niraja, 17 Parman TLLC

Leave a Reply

