Parman teen book review: “The Problem with forever” by Jennifer L. Armentrout

problem-with-foeverThe Problem with Forever is a meaningful and deeply moving contemporary novel that tackles some heavy topics – abuse, mental health counseling, and even death – beautifully. Even though this novel is a little long for a young adult novel, I flew through all 480 pages because the story was so captivating. The plot follows Mallory Dodge and Rider Star – two foster children who have known each other since they were three – as they run into each other again after being separated for four years. Armentrout’s writing is well-crafted, making Mallory’s story heartbreakingly real and taking readers on a roller coaster ride of emotions. Sometimes I found myself grinning so widely my cheeks hurt; other times I fought back tears and attempted to swallow the lump in my throat. I loved how character-driven The Problem with Forever is, as all the characters are dynamic, easy to relate to, and understandable. Character development was one of the most interesting aspects of the novel, and I found myself liking even minor characters, who managed to play a major role in the story. Of course, Mallory and Riker were my favorites. I felt as though I could personally relate to Mallory’s shyness, and Riker is so compassionate and patient with her. Overall, The Problem with Forever is a novel like no other and would be perfect for readers who are looking for a novel that is both impactful and sweet.

Niraja, 17 Parman TLLC

Leave a Reply

