Parman Teen Book Review:”P.S. I like you” by Kasie West

psilikeyou       P.S. I Like You was my first Kasie West read, and I picked it up after reading many raving reviews and receiving countless recommendations. I was not disappointed; however, I did not enjoy it as much as I had hoped. This novel was highly entertaining, swoon-worthy, and absolutely adorable, yet unmemorable. Having finished this a few weeks ago, I really can’t recall any of the characters other than Lily – the protagonist – and her love interest, Cade. I vaguely remember Lily’s so-called “best friend,” who for the most part, seemed unsupportive and distant. The overall story was also pretty hackneyed. I loved the notes, though, and it reminded me of one of my favorite reads of the year – Tell Me Three Things by Julie Buxbaum. However, whereas Tell Me Three Things kept me on my toes from the first page to the last, P.S. I Like You fell a little flat. The plot was predictable, for I figured out the identity of Lily’s mystery letter-writer pretty much in the first fourth of the book. In addition, it took me a very, very long time to begin liking Cade as a character. Although charming, he seemed to be a bully to the core. Only towards the end of the book is his behavior explained, and I feel as though if this had taken place earlier in the novel, I would have ended up enjoying it more. Nonetheless, P.S. I Like You is a sweet, contemporary read, and I can’t wait to discover more of Kasie West’s writing.~ Niraja~ Parman TLLC

 

 

Leave a Reply

