Parman Teen Book Review: “A torch against the night” by Sabaa Tahir

torch

“A Torch Against the Night”will almost certainly take you on a roller coaster ride of emotions and have you biting your nails from anticipation from start to finish. There were many, many things I enjoyed about this book, my favorite being Helene’s point of view. Although I did like Helene in An Ember in the Ashes and could sympathize with her mentality from time to time, A Torch Against the Night truly displays what a strong, capable character she is. I was sickened by the horrible choices Helene had to make on a daily basis, which often involved sacrificing herself or one of her loved ones for the sake of the Empire. Marcus, as expected, is a heartless Emperor, although the humane side of him does show through from time to time. The tension between him and Helene is omnipresent and dangerous, and I can’t wait to see it develop in the next book in the series, which is expected to be published in 2018. Something I didn’t like about the book was its pacing. Some of the events seemed a little scattered to me, and I feel like if it had been a tad bit slower, I would have been able to enjoy it more simply because I would have gotten the chance to savor every moment. All in all, however, A Torch Against the Night is a spellbinding addition to a wonderful fantasy series that is sure to leave you breathless.

Niraja, 18 Parman TLLC

 

Leave a Reply

