Archive for the book review Category

Parman Teen Book Display

Posted in book review, teen library services with tags on September 14, 2017 by parmanlibraryteens

Football display

There’s nothing quite like Texas Football!

GO RATTLERS! GO ROADRUNNERS! GO COWBOYS!

Book Review: Dangerous Creatures Author: Kami Garcia

Posted in book review, teen volunteer, Uncategorized on July 14, 2017 by teensmysapl

WARNING: SPOILERS INCLUDED IN THIS REVIEW

Going into this book, I was expecting nothing less than an entertaining story about navigating the complexities and obstacles that come with having an overwhelming amount of power in a Caster-filled city, like New York.  The Beautiful Creatures series that comes before this spin-off series did an excellent job of representing those struggles, in addition to ensnaring all of our hearts with the ever-pleasing “love conquers all” theme.  Based off my knowledge of this new story’s main characters, I expected this book to be a charming tale of Link’s childish nature eventually reforming Ridley’s dark and manipulative Siren ways.

It was not what I expected.  It’s true that Link did win over Ridley’s heart, but at a high cost.  Ridley didn’t really ever change.  She used Link as little more than a pawn or collateral in her dealings in the Caster world.  Not to mention, the author does present new competition for her heart with the introduction of Lennox Gates, stereotypical playboy millionaire with a weakness for those famed cherry lollipops and golden eyes.  Despite what Nox could offer her, Ridley still chose to be with Link.  That, on its own, is enough to leave the reader heart-wrenched.  The twisted, confusing kind of love that Ridley and Link have for each other is so much more relatable and heartbreaking than what readers saw between Ethan and Lena.  It’s so much more real.

The group of friends assembled by Link in New York city rival the original group in Beautiful Creatures in terms of loyalty and creative problem-solving.  This new crew, however, outranks the original one as far as drama and deception, what with Floyd not-so-secretly being in love with Link, not to mention Necro using her talent for Nox’s purposes.  The main villain presented in this series presents a more dangerous threat than anything seen in this entire story so far.  Silas Ravenwood is twisted and horrifying, even more so than his father, Abraham, whom he seeks to avenge. Silas’s quest for vengeance leads him straight to Link- one of his father’s murderer- and to Ridley, for whom he has every intention of capturing and experimenting on.

While the reader sees somewhat limited change in Ridley’s mindset, the reader does witness a true evolution of Nox’s character. Despite seeming stereotypical in character, he proves to be capable of overcoming his selfish ways, sacrificing everything, including his chance to be with Ridley, in order to spirit her and Link away, despite this fact almost guaranteeing his death at Silas’s hands.  Link, too, undergoes a lot of character development throughout his journey.  His one constant- his absolute faith in Ridley’s better nature- is tried and tested over and over and over again, but even when presented with Floyd’s affection, he continues to choose Ridley.  Despite this, he becomes increasingly disenchanted with the Siren he thought he knew.  He develops a greater understanding of what he is to her- a pawn- even as she begins to realize that he is actually so much more.  Consequently, Link becomes more independent and develops a stronger personality whilst making friends and connections of his own.

The way this story ends cuts the reader to the core.  The author presents the reader with the one thing that’s seemed entirely absent throughout this tale- hope.  Hope for Ridley and Link’s relationship and for Ridley’s redemption.  Then, in the very last pages, she rips it away in a swirl on emotion and fire.  The ending appeals to its audience once again in a very realistic way by presenting the inevitability of fate, as Nox’s premonitions of the danger to Ridley’s life come true, even after his sacrifice.  The hopelessness of the situation in almost reminiscent of the theme in Beautiful Chaos– “the wheel of fate crushes us all.”  This story is beautifully written with unapologetic honesty and riveting schemes and deception that makes the reader realize that perhaps it isn’t having power to manipulate the world that makes us such dangerous creatures, but rather, our ability to manipulate the hearts of those around us.

Overall Rating: 4/5

Read, Written, and Edited by: Scarlett Smith

 

 

Landa Teens : May ’17

Posted in Crafts, Library Programs, San Antonio Public Library, Science, teen library services, teen volunteer with tags , , , , , , on June 1, 2017 by landalibraryteens

It’s the end of the semester and we have been doing All The Things : we started off May by doing our first Suggestion Box event : SLIME part II! It was super goopy goodness. We marbled with acrylics making marbled paper and mugs – perfect for gifting to our moms for Mothers Day – and had a reboot of Ziplock icecream with a Moana sing -a-long.

Our HelloGoodbye Bash (just your typical End of School Year – Landa Closing – Summer Starting Celebration) was pretty awesome, too. We made bots out of LEDs and clay, tried a round 2 of switch-plate decor, ate sooo much pizza and got prepped for summer reading. Oh yeah – we tested out Landa’s green screen too – it was epic.

Alright, that’s it for us –  Happy summer! We’ll see ya in the Fall.   

 peace

 

Parman Teen Book Review: “Matched” by Allison Condie

Posted in book review, teen volunteer on November 20, 2015 by parmanlibraryteens

Matched is the first novel in a trilogy concerning a highly restrictive dystopian society, much like The Hunger Games and the Divergent series; however, this novel is not nearly as violent. The protagonist is seventeen-year-old Cassia Reyes, and the story starts off with her getting ready for her Match Banquet, a ceremony in which boys and girls are Matched together, similar to an arranged marriage. Cassia ends up being matched with her best friend Xander, and she excitedly heads home to read the micro card given to her at the Match Banquet, containing information about her Match. Cassia is content with her Match and excited to find out if she will discover anything about Xander that she does not already know in the micro card, but her whole life changes when the micro card displays an image that it should not have – for a brief moment, instead of displaying Xander’s face, it showed Ky Markham. Cassia knows Ky from school, and she also knows that Ky is an Aberration: someone who is not a citizen of their society because they, or someone related to them, has committed a “crime.” Cassia knows that the image was a mistake, and the Officials have told her it was, but she cannot help but wonder who her true match is: Xander or Ky? As the novel progresses, Cassia struggles to realize where her heart lies, especially as she begins to see the goodness in Ky and the lack of courage in Xander. Matched is an interesting novel with a feminine touch that I would suggest to readers who enjoyed The Hunger Games and Divergent trilogies. Niraja, 16 Parman TLLC

matched

 

Teen Book Review: “The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian” by Sherman Alexie and illustrations by Ellen Forney

Posted in book review, Comics, San Antonio Public Library with tags , on September 6, 2015 by centraltllc1

Exploring Indian identity, both self and tribal, Alexie’s novel is a semiautobiographical chronicle of Arnold Spirit, aka Junior, a Spokane Indian from Wellpinit, WA. The bright 14-year-old was born with water on the brain, is regularly the target of bullies, and loves to draw. He says, “I think the world is a series of broken dams and floods, and my cartoons are tiny little lifeboats.” He expects disaster when he transfers from the reservation school to the rich, white school in Reardan, but soon finds himself making friends with both geeky and popular students and starting on the basketball team. Meeting his old classmates on the court, Junior grapples with questions about what constitutes one’s community, identity, and tribe. The daily struggles of reservation life and the tragic deaths of the protagonist’s grandmother, dog, and older sister would be all but unbearable without the humor and resilience of spirit with which Junior faces the world. The many characters, on and off the rez, with whom he has dealings are portrayed with compassion and verve, particularly the adults in his extended family. Forney’s simple pencil cartoons fit perfectly within the story and reflect the burgeoning artist within Junior. Reluctant readers can even skim the pictures and construct their own story based exclusively on Forney’s illustrations. The teen’s determination to both improve himself and overcome poverty, despite the handicaps of birth, circumstances, and race, delivers a positive message in a low-key manner.

Sarah, Central TLLC, 16

"The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian" by Sherman Alexie and illustrations by Ellen Forney

Teen Book Review: “The Perks of Being a Wallflower” by Stephen Chbosky

Posted in book review, Books to Movies, San Antonio Public Library with tags , on July 25, 2015 by centraltllc1

This novel follows observant “wallflower” Charlie as he charts a course through the strange world between adolescence and adulthood. First dates, family drama, and new friends. Sex, drugs, and The Rocky Horror Picture Show. Devastating loss, young love, and life on the fringes. Caught between trying to live his life and trying to run from it, Charlie must learn to navigate those wild and poignant roller-coaster days known as growing up. This book is really emotional and a good read for teens who may feel out of place or like they don’t fit in. It makes you think about things in a different perspective and how life is short and the little moments are worth everything. It’s a good read for all ages and genders and will definitely develop a place in your heart.

Sarah, Central TLLC, 16

"Perks of Being a Wallflower" by Stephen Chbolsky

Teen Book Review: “Life As We Knew It” by Susan Beth Pfeffer

Posted in book review, San Antonio Public Library, Science with tags , , on July 19, 2015 by centraltllc1

Life As We Knew It explores what happens to an ordinary family in a normal American town when their world changes forever. An asteroid hits the moon, knocking it into a closer orbit. This causes all kinds of disasters that bring the world to a halt. Without shops, food, electricity, heat and water, Miranda and her family face problems together and struggle to survive. Miranda has to undergo a lot of changes and finds herself dealing with internal and external struggles. She soon ends up having to question whether or not she will sacrifice herself for her family or survive and watch her family struggle. Life As We Knew It is an interesting sci fi teen book for both boys and girls.

Sarah, Central, 16

"Life As We Knew It" by Susan Beth Pfeffer